4li2k73z Share your Vital activity on Facebook (More info)
close

Participating Members

How to properly spray paint your bike

8/27/2012 6:21 PM
Edited Date/Time: 3/11/2014 10:45 AM

I've noticed a lot of threads popping up asking how to paint. I figured i'd put together a fun "how to" for you guys. I've been painting for 13 years now (not only bicycles) so i've typed out the easiest method to do it, this method is one that EVERYONE can do.

Before we start, here's an important reminder. Spray paint is not durable, there's no way to argue it. Spray paint was meant for looks and not durability. You will scratch your frame/parts after you paint them, it's gonna happen and the only way to avoid it is to put your bike in a glass case and never touch it. I use a lot of clear on my frame and main parts to help reduce the damage but the only way to scratch proof your bike is to powdercoat it or raw it, that's the only way.

lets get started, kiddies.

what you little bastards are gonna need for your new project:
-Sandpaper (220, 320, 600, 800, 1000+)
Do yourself a favor and get GOOD sandpaper from an autoparts store, get the "wet/dry" sandpaper.
-Green pads (equivalent to like 220 sandpaper it is)
-Rubbing alcohol, you'll see why
-GET A GOOD PRIMER!! Not that cheap shit from Walmart or wherever you Non-U.S. residents buy all your shit
-GET GOOD PAINT!! Stay away from the cheap spray paint, you know what stuff i'm talking aboot. Get some Krylon, it's good shit but go to an Autoparts store that has 3M paints or Dupont paints, they stick better, dry better and can take a little bit of beating compared to regular spray paint
-GET GOOD CLEAR!! I know they make cheap clear, it sucks and you'll hate yourself
-Get some Aircraft stripper, you don't NEED it but i highly recommend it.