4li2k73z Share your Vital activity on Facebook (More info)
close

Participating Members

HOW TO FIX YOUR BIKE

12/2/2009 4:46 PM
Edited Date/Time: 2/14/2010 4:08 PM

Wheel building and wheel truing

Wheel building

I have no experienced in this so I am going to refer you to some videos and web sites that can explain it better then I ever could.

Wheel building videos

Part 1

Part 2

Wheel building web sites

These are for you less visual learners that like to read more then watch.

http://www.tenpackbmx.com/...eel_Building_101.pdf

http://sheldonbrown.com/wheelbuild.html

An amendment to the section twisted added on wheel building...

what to do after your wheel is built... by ridebmxnc

Once you've built your wheel and your spokes are all properly tensioned (barely move when you squeeze two of them together if at all), your going to want to break in your newly built wheel.

Just like you have to break in a new pair of shoes, a wheel needs to be broken in before its riden too hard or your going to create a lot more work for yourself. Why you ask? Because spokes are typically much harder than the material your hub is made out of and when you put stress on two metal parts rubbing together one of them is going to have to give. If you've ever taken apart a hub before you'll notice that some if not all of the spoke holes on your hub will have a little indentation around the hole. That is where the spoke has pulled on the flange and set itself during its initial break in period.

So what are you supposed to do with this knowledge now? Pre-stress your wheel before you go really ride it for the first time. Now getting back to what next from the first paragraph...

First thing after youve built your wheel, go and find a block of wood. Set one side of your axle on it and press down on the rim, do it gently at first but enough to make the wheel flex a little. Rotate it around and then flip it upside down and do the same thing on the other side.