Latest Product Reviews

RSS

FBM Nice Nylon Pedals

“Good in the trails”

C138_nice_nylon_pedals_detail

The Good:

Dont hold all the dirt as they aren't knurled,
Last long
Not too grippy, allows you to actually get off your bike, especially when looping out

The Bad:

Not the grippiest, if you like really grippy pedals, imo there perfect for me

Overall Review: I went for these pedals as they aren't knurled, basically dont have the tiny little cross patterns a bit like what you see inside of most stems or where the bar is clamped to the stem. The reason i didn't want the knurling was because they collect dirt and becomes really annoying and a lot less grippy, especially for trail riders.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member chesterhilly
146810 chesterhilly http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/146810/avatar/c50_background_1498340709.jpg?1498339911 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/chesterhilly,146810/all 02/17/17 2 5 52 2

BSD Donnasqueak Tire

“Decent in the street.”

C138_bsdproductstiresdonnasqueak005.jpg.pagespeed.ce.yq8bllak_7

The Good:

Grippy, good even on dirt
Last you what you would expect from a tyre
Better with the punctures than the average
No problems with the side wall. They do squeak, people say they dont, you just need the right type of surface!

The Bad:

Not the fastest, definitely not the slowest
A few cuts and nacs in parts

Overall Review: So I bought this tyre, not for the squeak cos thats a bit sad, but first off they do squeak, people are complaining that they dont but thats probably because they can't 180 or dont have the right type of surface. So its a lower tpi tyre, so you would expect longer wear time, in which this definitely reaches that. And due to the lower tpi, you dont get the highest speeds but really not a product kill and ive only had one puncture, a thorn but I cant see much tyres stopping that because I had a branch jammed between the wheel and the forks. Everything else is good, Except there are a few tiny holes wear the tyre has somehow opened, its tiny so you wont really notice it. Also, the grip is great aswell, never slipped out. It did have that weird coating when i first got it.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member chesterhilly
146810 chesterhilly http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/146810/avatar/c50_background_1498340709.jpg?1498339911 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/chesterhilly,146810/all 02/17/17 2 5 52 2

Cult VANS Grips

“Decent grips”

C138_screen_shot_2011_12_14_at_3.56.27_pm

The Good:

Look good great color options great design good grip

The Bad:

Material is super soft and wears out really quick

Overall Review: decent grips

2016 Verde A\V

“Terrible not good”

C138_2016_verde_av_acid_green

The Good:

Cool colors

The Bad:

Bottom bracket broke within first month of beginner riding

Overall Review: Do not make the mistake I did and buy this bike if you plan on riding bmx and putting the bike through heck. But if you want a good looking bike to cruise around town with this is it

2017 Kink Gap XL Bike

“old/mid school rider getting back into the game”

C138_bike_gapxl_k440blkbs17_w3q

The Good:

i like the geometry of the frame and the big ass tires i always wanted bigger tires back in the early 2000's and now they are building the forks and rear chainstays for it and that is really awesome!

The Bad:

i bought the bike knowing it had the just chromoly main frame, but still dont like the fact that its not 100%.....i ride pegs and im usually 90% park rider so i dont get burly with dropping hard on my pegs, with that being said, the front fork drop outs are caving in on me, what happened to the nice thick 1/4 " drop outs? i dont care how much weight you are trying to lose, thats an area you should not skimp on.....also because of this,,, my front axle is bent,, because of my front axle being bent, now my front hub is loose, and sounds like shit, i had to buy new wheels, also taking the tires off to switch i noticed the rims are not double walled.....now this is where i said jesus this is bad i did a cranked turndown over a hip, and when i landed the bars pushed forward,,,making my jam into the stem and my chest getting slammed into the stem......i just got done re doing the stem the last time i rode so i know i had the stem cranked tight, withe that being said i think the stem is getting replaced with my old fit stem that had never let any of my bars slip,

Overall Review: over all i give the kink bike the glory of making it look like you have a really nice bike, but at the end of the day you get what you pay for and i skimped out because i wanted a really nice bike but didnt want to pay a ton.....now im stuck replacing the wheels, stem and later on the frame, i will not be buying any kink stuff any more and will be sticking to s&m or another bike company that will help with doing good quality work
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital BMX member thedb63
152152 thedb63 http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/152152/avatar/c50_92_acura_integra_gsr_1496891271.jpg?1496890491 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/thedb63,152152/all 06/07/17 1

BSD Front Street Front Hub

“best hub i have rode”

C138_bsdproductshubsfrontstreet0013colours

The Good:

axles dont bend even with alot of abuse. bearings spin forever pretty cheap

The Bad:

its bsd what could be bad...

Overall Review: Great hub axles are very strong bearings spin forever pretty cheap for what you get and bsd is just the best anyway haha...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member jake_united
113636 jake_united http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/113636/avatar/c50_15036272_600108486861087_2970024210594054199_n_1491221830.jpg?1491220983 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/jake-united,113636/all 12/07/14 2 31 3

Colony Rear Freecoaster Wheels

“Not bad for the price”

C138_wheels_freecoaster_close

The Good:

decent rim and the freecoaster is good

The Bad:

spokes come loose easy

Overall Review: good wheel cheapest freecoaster on the market but the spokes come loose after 2 rides. still recommend it.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member jake_united
113636 jake_united http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/113636/avatar/c50_15036272_600108486861087_2970024210594054199_n_1491221830.jpg?1491220983 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/jake-united,113636/all 12/07/14 2 31 3

2017 Colony Sweet Tooth Pro Bike

“Great has some flaws”

C138_sweet_tooth_front_hub

The Good:

light, strong wheels, stylish

The Bad:

no name cranks, no name bars

Overall Review: Awesome bike. Super light. I've had it six months and barely bent the rims with some hard abuse. Also, the cranks will pop loudly sometimes. Otherwise, this bike really feels super awesome. I would buy it again.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member Pete Kostin
144823 Pete Kostin http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/144823/avatar/c50_IMG_1200_1_1494794567.jpg?1494793731 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/Pete-Kostin,144823/all 12/14/16 13 20 1

2011 Eastern Bikes Ramrodder Bike

“excellent starter bike”

C138_complete_ramrodder_matte_black_lo_res

The Good:

-can take a beating
-can easily fix with basic tools
-long lasting tires

The Bad:

-has a VERY bendable sprocket.
-the hub does loosen over time (can be fixed with a bike wrench or a bike shop)
-it is heavy, but that's expected.

Overall Review: I got this bike in 4/20/2011 for a starter it had cost me at the time $330.24 with tax. this bike is an excellent first starter for anyone trying to get into BMX. I have bashed this thing to death but it still works. however, I did replace some parts after a bad crash on the sprocket ( i jumped it and it landed right on the sprocket, I'm surprised it stayed in one piece) so I replaced it with a salt pro t-6 alloy sprocket and a kmc 510 chain.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member merk20
150850 merk20 http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/150850/avatar/c50_401_1495204100.jpg?1495203832 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/merk20,150850/all 05/19/17 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/merk20,150850/setup 1 1 2