Latest Product Reviews

RSS

BSD The Beverage Frame

“Best Frame Ever? ”

C138_frame_bsd_the_beverage

The Good:

Really nice Geometry on this one, could not be happier. I've also ridden a Federal Lacey frame, Ty Morrow frame and Sunday Funday frame. The Lacey and Morrow felt really selective to street riding only. This frame feels at home everywhere! holds flow easily, ton's of pop. I have a 21 feels more like 20.8/20.9 because the back end is super short, not complaining at all just means spinning is easier!

The Bad:

Back end is really short, once you slide the back end out it becomes extremely sensitive so if you aren't careful you will loop out (I'm talking about steezy speed check slides) etc. This was the only downside to the frame but I changed from a 50mm stem to a 52 and its not as much an issue now.

Overall Review: I mean you could probably complain about the short back end thing but just slap on a 52mm stem and you're laughing! Best frame ever! Get one, you will not regret it. My Settup is 30mm forks 21inch frame and 52mm stem 9inch bars. Ride Everything.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member Rupert_Denham
94059 Rupert_Denham http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/94059/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1325415101.jpg?1337074038 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/Rupert-Denham,94059/all 05/15/12 1 4 1

Sunday Octave Fork

“Great forks”

C138_octave_blk

The Good:

Strong, lifetime warranty, etc

The Bad:

Nothing at all

Overall Review: They are great forks, basically the same things as Odyssey R32s. Backed with a lifetime warranty, these forks will take whatever you can throw at em. I had my last pair for 3 & 1/2 years and did manage to put a couple small cracks on the welds of the dropouts, and even twisted the legs, but even that didn't make them outright snap (Luckily haha) but that's what warranty is for, everything will break eventually.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member sundaybmxRR
8288 sundaybmxRR http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/8288/avatar/c50_15102296_10210973470117928_1569641672_o_1479535352.jpg?1479534940 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/sundaybmxRR,8288/all 07/13/07 233 216 116 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/sundaybmxRR,8288/setup 332 10787 1226 20 662

Odyssey Thunderbolt Cranks

“Best cranks ever.”

C138_screen_shot_2015_05_06_at_21.37.11

The Good:

Everything. They're stiff, the wedge interface is very good, and they're Odyssey... What more could you want?

The Bad:

I guess if you care about the paint wearing off quickly from your feet rubbing the arms, that's bad. But I don't mind it.

Overall Review: Best cranks, seriously. Stop reading this and go buy them already! They're Odyssey so they're backed with a lifetime warranty for starters. Unlike 48 spline cranks, they will NEVER develop a wobble due to the splines wearing out, as they have no splines but a hexagonal wedge system instead which keeps everything nice & tight. Mine are nearly 3 years old and still feel as stiff as the day I bought them, and much stiffer than the 48 spline cranks I've ridden in the past. Get them!!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member sundaybmxRR
8288 sundaybmxRR http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/8288/avatar/c50_15102296_10210973470117928_1569641672_o_1479535352.jpg?1479534940 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/sundaybmxRR,8288/all 07/13/07 233 216 116 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/sundaybmxRR,8288/setup 332 10787 1226 20 662

Tree Bicycle Co. Straight Pull Front Hub Front Hub

“I wouldn't recommend it if you're a heavy grinder.”

C138_raw_v2_hub_jpg_dsc4656

The Good:

Rolls AMAZING, super easy to lace up, & makes a stiff wheel build.

The Bad:

Aluminum axle. I've stripped 2 of them.

Overall Review: Rode this hub for about 6 months, stripped 2 axles in that short time frame. Grinding is one of my favorite things to do, so I'm sure that has something to do with it. The first time, the threads just pulled out with my bolt when I took my wheel off... Tree warrantied this no problem though (which is awesome of them, no hard feelings!) but then it happened again as I came down on a 180 grind, and my peg almost fell off. I opted to just have helicoils installed in it to prevent this from happening again (Plus, warrantying it again would probably just yield the same results.) and they held up fine, I ended up Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member sundaybmxRR
8288 sundaybmxRR http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/8288/avatar/c50_15102296_10210973470117928_1569641672_o_1479535352.jpg?1479534940 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/sundaybmxRR,8288/all 07/13/07 233 216 116 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/sundaybmxRR,8288/setup 332 10787 1226 20 662

Cult Match Cassette Rear Hub

“Amazing hub”

C138_match_cassette

The Good:

Rolls nice and has taken everything I've thrown at it for almost 4 years now.

The Bad:

Nothing really.

Overall Review: It's the Primo Mix cassette just rebranded, so you know the internals are going to be good. Only somewhat bad thing about it is the non-drive side flange is a bit large and even with a hub guard, grinds tend to wear the spokes down and they eventually snap. Not a huge issue since it's not all the time though, and plus the v2 fixed that.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member sundaybmxRR
8288 sundaybmxRR http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/8288/avatar/c50_15102296_10210973470117928_1569641672_o_1479535352.jpg?1479534940 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/sundaybmxRR,8288/all 07/13/07 233 216 116 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/sundaybmxRR,8288/setup 332 10787 1226 20 662

Colony Squareback Stem

“Sweet looking stem.”

C138_squareback_black

The Good:

Awesome color.
Strong.
Amazing quality.
Solid feel to it.
Unique looking.

The Bad:

Slippery inside.

Overall Review: Amazing looking stem, I have it in the Rainbow colorway and it is killer! It is light yet strong, and definitely makes the bike look sexy. The only bad thing was how my bars kept stripping, I ended up having to sand the insides and then it got better.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member satriseb
134568 satriseb /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/satriseb,134568/all 05/18/16 3

DK Social Cranks Cranks

“Solid Cranks!”

C138_dk_cranks

The Good:

Good looking.
Solid built. Cheap.
Light.
Strong.
Aesthetically pleasing.

The Bad:

Nothing so far.

Overall Review: I got these for as little as $110.00! They are definitely a bang for the buck, the look awesome, and came with the tools necessary to be installed. No problems so far, they are strong cranks.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member satriseb
134568 satriseb /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/satriseb,134568/all 05/18/16 3

Volume Bermuda V2 Frame

“Amazing Frame.”

C138_volume_bermuda_v2_frame

The Good:

Paint Job.
Quality.
Chain Tensioners.
Solid Frame.

The Bad:

Paint comes off kind of easy, specially by the dropouts.

Overall Review: I got the Mint Chip special run and it is amazing, the quality is on point and everything is welded really nicely. I got mine through DansComp and I got it for a bit less than $300 thanks to a discount I got. It is a solid frame, and it looks really good. Solid bmx frame. It has a unique look.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member satriseb
134568 satriseb /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/satriseb,134568/all 05/18/16 3

2016 Kink Solace Hamlin Signature Bike

“Excellent Complete Bike”

C138_bike_solace_k490gld16_flat1

The Good:

All the good that you already know by reading the specs. Built tough.

The Bad:

- Rear Dropouts are 14mm, but the female hub bolt is 3/8ths. With no spacer/collar (Empire BMX sells "Axle adapters") the rear wheel has a lot of shake and movement to it, especially if you ride four pegs. Once I put the Kink Driver Hub Guard on, it was difficult to get the wheel to sit straight. It was always pulling to the left. - Fork length is tight, making Toe-jams sketchy

Overall Review: This bike is light and clean out of the box. You can put it together and go ride it without the addition of any extra parts. It handles like a dream and it is built tough. I wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member StabbyMcHatchet
123784 StabbyMcHatchet http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/123784/avatar/c50_kink_bmx_1446902663.jpg?1446901856 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/StabbyMcHatchet,123784/all 11/07/15 5 12 4 1

FBM U.S. Apes Handlebars

“These bars are deah!”

C138_fbm_us_apes_clear

The Good:

The sweep is comfy, nice classic look, damn are these bars light!

The Bad:

I got 9" (lol) which are a bit too high for my liking

Overall Review: I believe they're discontinued now, but I few shops still have them. The 9" are too tall for my liking, but with a flipped stem they feel lovely. I also chopped them down a fair bit. The sweep is really comfy and they're probably the lightest bars I've ever had! They'll give your bike extra deah!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital BMX member grumpySteve
123538 grumpySteve http://p.vitalbmx.com/photos/users/123538/avatar/c50_IMG_20160903_133552_1479807414.jpg?1479806814 http://www.vitalbmx.com/community/grumpySteve,123538/all 11/01/15 4 1 22 2324 1 4 1