Back after 15 years - Mongoose Legion l100

Related:
Create New Tag

6/7/2018 6:01 PM
Edited Date/Time: 6/8/2018 8:07 AM

Hey everyone!

So, I'm 34yo; I have 3 kids, have been married for 15 years, and I haven't ridden BMX since before I got married. I rode my whole childhood and teen years. Back then I rode a 1997 GT Performer. In fact, my wife went out to our barn last week and pulled out that old rusty GT, which is how my new journey started.

Seeing that bike brought back a ton of memories, and I started thinking. I've been needing to get some exercise, but I hate gyms and running. Riding sounded perfect. So, I decided to order a basic BMX bike and start riding the streets around my house and also the local skateparks here in central Indiana.

Obviously, I'm gonna be a total newb at a skatepark, but I've been watching some 'skatepark etiquette' videos in order to reduce the amount of headache I cause to other riders. I'm really looking forward to just experiencing the feeling of riding ramps, even if tricks come slowly.

Here's my Mongoose:

Photo

Anyone else out there ever put a l100 through the ringer? If so, how did it hold up? I weight 200 lbs., so if I land flat (maybe there's another name for that) it'll be a hard landing. =)

I used to have some skills when I was young. But I've stuck to riding Harley's ever since my 20's, and I'm out of shape and skill. I can still bunny-hop and 180 flat, but that's about it. My first goal this weekend is to practice manuals. I have a skater co-worker who is going to go to the park with me next week. He's excited to get on his BMX as well and ride with me.

I'm super stoked!

Specs from company website:

Sizes: OS
Frame: 4130 chromoly; removable brake mounts; integrated headset & mid BB shell
Fork: 4130 chromoly; 1-1/8" threadless steerer; taper leg
Crank: 3-piece tubular cromo,175 mm,25T alloy chainring
Bottom Bracket: Mid sealed bearing; 8-spline axle
Shifters: N/A
Cog Set: 9T cassette driver
Chain: KMC® Z410