My diy raw and rainbow HARO

Related:
Create New Tag

4/3/2018 5:39 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/5/2018 2:46 PM

I used a wire wheel to raw the frame bars and forks then went mad with a blowtorch and sprayed the rims. And gave it a good coat of clear lacquer. Also added some rainbow blowtorch to the seat tube (don't worry the frame and welds are all solid and not damaged!)

Came out pretty clean I'll upload some better photos when I can

What's your opinion?

Photo
Photo
Photo
Photo

|

4/3/2018 5:52 PM

Looks pretty slick, but doesn't adding heat to completed parts partially weaken the material.

|

4/3/2018 6:06 PM

Hope you don't plan on riding that bike much cause all that grinding and burning seriously weakened the integrity of that metal. Heating metal to that point, where it's "rainbowed", makes its very brittle. I worked as a industrial welder/fabricator for a number of years and know a thing or two about structural integrity.

|

4/3/2018 6:09 PM

rdtrls006 wrote:

Hope you don't plan on riding that bike much cause all that grinding and burning seriously weakened the integrity of that ...more

This.

|

I don't crash, I do random gravity checks...

4/3/2018 6:25 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/3/2018 6:27 PM

rdtrls006 wrote:

Hope you don't plan on riding that bike much cause all that grinding and burning seriously weakened the integrity of that ...more

HondaCRFRacer wrote:

This.

It's all good it shouldn't be weakened in any way it took surprisingly little heat. My dad's a fabricator welder for all his life and now working on the crossrail and I was super careful not to heat it up too hot only slight passes with the torch smile

|

4/7/2018 10:39 PM

Looks cool!

|

4/8/2018 7:50 PM