2.4 Rear/2.2 Front

Related:
Create New Tag

11/23/2019 3:15 PM
Edited Date/Time: 11/23/2019 3:16 PM

Ride a Fit TwentyTwo. Honestly, my bag of tricks is limited jumping off curbs, manuals and hops, and just carving around wherever I am. At my age, an hour of this a few times a week satisfies my needs. I won’t be “hucking” much of anything. I’m not very good at any of these tricks, but my goal is to be damn good at them one day. My thought is to swap my 2.4 front tire onto the rear of my bike, and move the 2.2 up front. I am thinking this would give me a bigger tire patch out back for my manuals, and lighten the front end of the bike a tiny bit. Plus, after 40 years of motorcycles and hot rods, it’s far more aesthetically pleasing. This is free-style - I can do what I want, but I need to know if going against the long-settled fat-up-front practice is a mistake.

Appreciate your thoughts.

|

11/23/2019 3:56 PM

I tried once, weirdest feeling ever.
The handling felt really strange, the bigger back tire added traction completely messed up the front when turning the bars more than 5°, the direction felt dangerous, like if the back tire wanted to ride faster than the front which leads to a super weird handling.
It’s hard to describe the feel with words but even if I really don’t recommend riding this way, just try it for the sake of experimentation and you’ll might understand what I said.

|

11/23/2019 4:01 PM

It’s a no from me, seems to me it would be more of a hindrance but like you said you can do what you want, it’s freestyle.

|

Ride everything

11/23/2019 4:05 PM

It may look good from a motorcycle perspective, but on a BMX it's not gonna feel good. There's a reason nobody runs that, it's not practical. But we can't stop you at the end of the day.

|

Scooter kid trying to ride BMX.
Instagram: @scootereyn

11/23/2019 4:28 PM

readybmxer wrote: