53 vs 48 stem

Related:
Create New Tag

3/20/2020 7:31 PM

is there any noticeable difference? buying a stem for a race bike, so only tracks and trails.

|

I like riding my bike.

3/20/2020 8:40 PM

Get the 53.

|

Gave up on BMX to hang out with 13 year old soundcloud rappers, what a life, such a cool guy!
-Sheldon on Adam22

"The only future for BMX"

Yeah, kids getting shit bikes, breaking them and then quitting. LOL
-jbales on mafiaBIKES

I’ve been a 14 year old beginner for the last ten years
-adamnmexican

3/20/2020 8:42 PM

it's like 5mm difference. you really can't tell but... get the longer one.

|

3/21/2020 8:22 AM

Longer stem: Slightly more knee clearance to the bars; slightly longer grip reach; weight slightly more forward; similar to a longer TT without the added wheelbase
Shorter stem: More direct steering input / less swing in the bars; slightly more direct vertical input for hops; weight slightly back; similar to shorter TT but with longer wheelbase

Then again, it's only 1/4" and you probably won't notice. Stem reach is just a way to fine tune your stance, which really depends on your height, bars, and frame size.

|

Remember when you could ride all day and not be sore for a week?

3/22/2020 3:58 PM

Get the 53 if your just gonna be riding tracks and trails, and yeah I could totally tell the difference. I had to get rid of my 53 I just couldn’t get used to it going from a 48, so I got a 50 and didn’t really notice the extra 2mm after that.

|

Ride everything

3/23/2020 7:51 AM

MJbmx wrote:

Longer stem: Slightly more knee clearance to the bars; slightly longer grip reach; weight slightly more forward; similar to a longer TT without the added wheelbase
Shorter stem: More direct steering input / less swing in the bars; slightly more direct vertical input for hops; weight slightly back; similar to shorter TT but with longer wheelbase