Another annoying help me build a bike question

Related:
Create New Tag

7/25/2020 2:22 PM

I know, I know - search the forums. I have searched this and others. The problem is, there a million and one opinions (naturally) and for once I'm trying to NOT over-think my decision. I'm 37, 6'2", 200lb athletic build. I've never ridden bmx before (I used to skateboard). I just want something fun to take out in NYC and learn a few tricks (manuals, basic grinds, etc) to make getting around fun (I'm a photographer and my motorcycle is sometimes too much for a quick outing).

If I set a budget from $500-$800, is there a complete or a DIY kit or set of parts someone can recommend? From what I've read I probably want a TT around 21.5" or 22". Chromoly frame. Sealed bearings. I'm confused on tires, so recommendations there would help. Also confused about bar height (although I see 10" thrown around a lot). No idea about sprockets and chains (no one seems to have strong recommendations for those from what I can tell). I'm handy and could build it myself if that's better and more cost effective (I'm guessing it is), but it's tough to tell if I'm picking compatible parts or not because most DIY posts involve modding and customizing probably more than I'm prepared to do or spend on.

Would be great to hear from a tall rider or anyone who could kind of just say "you'll be pretty comfortable whipping around on x, y, z." Any advice is appreciated and thanks in advance.

|

7/25/2020 2:30 PM