Applying at a Bike Shop.

Related:
Create New Tag

7/10/2014 7:11 PM

My local shop, which is now under new management (YAY! They may deal BMX finally), and is hiring. What do i need to do to work here?

I am a pretty good wheel builder. I can make a wheel really well. I know most bicycle maintenance and i could sell a bike. What should i do to make my application better then the next guys?

|

References: OneGuyIlluminatiEye, robinson79, Brian Griffin, The Horror Contact, StoreBoughtChild, C_Johnsonbmx, dkTechEthan, etc.

7/10/2014 7:15 PM

Know more about other bikes than just bmx.

I work at a shop too & when I started, I thought it was gonna be a piece of cake and just working on bmx & from time to time, a couple road bikes. It's actually the exact opposite, and when we do work on bmx bikes, they're usually pieces of crap from Wal-Mart. Although we do get a nice one in from time to time to work on.

Basically, study up on gears and stuff about road bikes too. Show that you have some knowledge & are willing to learn more. I knew very little about working on gears/derailleurs, but since I was going to be working on a good amount of them, I eventually learned.

Also maybe state that since you ride bmx, maybe tell them it'll bring more business in since you have friends who ride and will come in and buy stuff. I know several people who never came to the shop I'm at, until I started there.

|

7/10/2014 9:17 PM

sundaybmxRR wrote:

I work at a shop too & when I started, I thought it was gonna be a piece of ...more

Yeah i actually do know a decent amount of stuff about derailers, i rode distance for a long time before BMX. I actually have a Bridgestone 400.

I would love to learn more tbh!! Bikes are always great. No matter what kind.

|

References: OneGuyIlluminatiEye, robinson79, Brian Griffin, The Horror Contact, StoreBoughtChild, C_Johnsonbmx, dkTechEthan, etc.

7/11/2014 6:22 AM
Edited Date/Time: 7/11/2014 6:24 AM