As big as will fit (tires)

Related:
Create New Tag

9/21/2020 5:04 PM

I've just built up a new bike, and the Odyssey Aitken 2.25 I had won't quite fit on the rear. My mate had a spare Colony Agenda 2.15 which I have on there now, but it looks ridiculously small compared to the front and there is room for a little more width there. The Aitkens look massive, so I reckon the actual size is a little inflated (hah!) by the side knobs compared to the advertised width.

So I need a new rear tyre. Ideally, one that looks similarish to the front. Right now I'm tossing up between the Grifter 2.3 and the Odsy Path 2.25. I mainly ride dirt and street. Nothing too adventurous as I'm still learning the basics.

Thoughts? Advice?

|

9/21/2020 5:07 PM

I'm also going with the assumption that the grifter and the path will be slightly narrower than the aitken. Is that a valid assumption do you think?

|

9/21/2020 5:43 PM
Edited Date/Time: 9/21/2020 5:45 PM

Grifter 2.3

Speaking of Grifters I just seen they have a 2.4 now. Jeez.

|

9/22/2020 12:01 AM

Out of curiosity, what frame do you have that won’t fit an aitken 2.25 in the back? I have that size aitkens on one of my bikes and grifters in 2.1 on another. Provided I remember, I’ll grab a measurement on both when I get in tomorrow morning. Even though the grifters I have are smaller than what you are looking at, we might be able to get a general idea how the width compares between the two.

|

9/22/2020 12:17 AM

upnsmoke wrote:

Out of curiosity, what frame do you have that won’t fit an aitken 2.25 in the back? I have that size aitkens on one of my bikes and grifters in 2.1 on another. Provided I remember, I’ll grab a measurement on both when I get in tomorrow morning. Even though the grifters I have are smaller than what you are looking at, we might be able to get a general idea how the width compares between the two.