Beginner choosing a BMX

Related:
Create New Tag

7/17/2017 10:45 AM

Hi all,

I met Eddie Fiola this weekend and it has inspired me to get into BMX! I'm a total beginner (last time I rode I was about 12). After doing some research I like the look of the Colony Premise, has anyone got one of these and can recommend? Or is there any other bikes in that price range that are better? I want to learn how to tailwhip etc, can that be done on this bike as it doesn't have gyro? Also it comes without a front brake is there any tricks that need it? Mainly going to be riding it around the streets and doing flatland stuff, maybe take it to the skatepark if I ever get any better! I know I'm getting ahead of myself slightly but I'd like to buy something future proof. I'm from the UK and the Colony is £370. ( 21, 5ft10, 190lbs) cheers guys.

|

7/17/2017 12:49 PM

jakeTG95 wrote:

Hi all,

I met Eddie Fiola this weekend and it has inspired me to get into BMX! I'm a total beginner (last time I rode I was ...more

If you want to focus primarily on flatland, a gyro would be wise. And a good front brake (however, no bikes really come with a good front brake now, so would mean also upgrading forks) will open up a lot of tricks, especially as you're just getting into it. Loads of flatlanders ride brakeless, but also ride with just a back brake, or just a front brake.
Geometry wise, most bikes should be OK for flatland, unless it's aimed specifically at trails.

Bikes are generally the same kind of spec/quality within any given price range, so unless you can up your budget by £100 or more, it'll be fine.

It comes with gyro tabs (the little holes on the headtube) so fitting a gyro shouldn't be a problem, but they're not cheap. You'll need the mounts that bolt onto the tabs, the floating spinny part, a top plate, and upper and lower cables.

That's a good bike for the price, but you'll really struggle to find anything as good for less, so use that as your benchmark

|

7/17/2017 12:53 PM