Bending front axles

Related:
Create New Tag

12/4/2017 8:11 AM
Edited Date/Time: 12/4/2017 8:11 AM

I have gone through two front hubs and two sets of forks in the last 4 months. The axle starts to bend and then the dropout bends. What is a good front hub/complete wheel with a strong front axle (3/8ths) that will not bend when doing smiths and tooths/overtooths. Not crazy expensive either.

|

12/4/2017 8:23 AM

14mm. That used to be what I ran back in the day (old fart), shocked me when I started riding again that everyone runs 3/8ths.

|

If I could go a tenth as high as Larry Edgar goes, then I would still be blasting super high.

12/4/2017 8:31 AM
Edited Date/Time: 12/4/2017 8:41 AM

Anything with those Conical Flanges and a FEMALE AXLE; Female Axles are over stronger option for the front- the protruding male axle is subject to bend and even push the flange into the bearings, thus the conical flange (Like the one on the Animal Javelin) which will push into the hub shell itself rather then into the bearing cup. Most aftermarket hubs have a conical flange and female axles(except cheap Stolen Co.), even the Colony Wasp/Pintour should do fine.

The hub itself will hold up fine but the Female bolts CAN snap off after some time of real hard riding, not as weak as male axles but still subject to snap- This is better than a male because you just have to replace the bolts instead of the entire hub-so if you grab a female hub see if you can grab some replacement bolts so you can be ready(especially if you do lots of tooths and smiths like me.)

↑Or get a 14mm Primo N4L with 14mm Primo forks, which is a for sure solution but a bit excessive(Hell, I'd do it if I didn't just get a fresh fork and wheel)

|

12/4/2017 9:48 AM

Phunny93 wrote:

Anything with those Conical Flanges and a FEMALE AXLE; Female Axles are over stronger option for the front- the protruding ...more