Bike frame jig

Related:
Create New Tag

1/12/2016 5:29 PM

Anyone everlook into building bike frames?
Might be something I would get into someday if I could figure out how to get headtubes and bottom brackets without investing a lot in having a machinist make them Photo

|

1/12/2016 5:32 PM

Before anyone asks I am a welder lol
Photo

|

1/12/2016 5:52 PM
Edited Date/Time: 1/12/2016 5:53 PM

You can buy just frame parts like the bb and head tube to same time and then weld them together

|

1/12/2016 6:02 PM

420bongblazer wrote:

You can buy just frame parts like the bb and head tube to same time and then weld them together

This. Solid Bikes sells them.

Start by building a frame for yourself to see if it is something you actually want to build. Then if there is interest, build for a buddy or two, and then start selling a few at a time online. (Essentially what Mike Laird did).

|

"Hey anybody ever make that mistake like right when you wake up in the morning and you believe in yourself?" -Kyle Kinane

"BIKES!" -Tom Segura

1/12/2016 6:18 PM

Nice looking weld man...too bad you used a positioner lol. Just giving you a hard time...But, from the looks of it you got it dialed in. The weld looks really consistent and pretty uniform. I've been wanting to weld up my own frame as well. That jig is crazy expensive it seems like though. I saw one a while back that was almost like the one you posted but, a little bigger and I don't think it was even half that price...but if you're actually going to get serious with it, and whip out hella frames, this jig doesn't look too bad. I like how it has the fork jig that comes with it as well.

|

1/12/2016 6:28 PM

There are cheaper options but that one would be GREAT for someone who was building a lot of frames.