Brakes or no brakes?

Related:
Create New Tag

4/21/2018 10:08 AM

Hi, I'm new to BMX and I'm on the hunt for a first BMX bike. On my search so far I've found that bike have brakes and some don't. My main question is whats the difference? My interest in the sport of course came from watching someone do cool tricks on their bike and thinking "thats so f***ing cool". while watching videos, I've learned the names of tricks and whatnot and I thought "wouldn't it be hard to bar-spin with the brakes in the way?" I also figured some bikes might have brakes in the cranks. Anyways, if anyone would answer this, It'd be greatly appreciated.

|

I like bikes...

4/21/2018 10:13 AM

Definitely brakes, at least for the first while until you gain some bike control, at which point you'd then decide whether or not you wanted to keep them.

Brakes don't really make a difference for barspins if you have enough cable slack or a gyro.

Back-pedal brakes are not really something you'll find on a BMX.

|

My Sunday Soundwave V3 Build
Insta: @p.gibbons

"You can't educate pork"
- grumpySteve

"Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!""
- Hunter S. Thompson

4/21/2018 10:22 AM

p1p1092 wrote:

Definitely brakes, at least for the first while until you gain some bike control, at which point you'd then decide whether or ...more

This. Loads of riders are brakeless, but anyone that started more than just a few years ago probably learnt to ride with a brake. As someone just starting, you won't gain any benefits from not having one, and they open up loads of cool simple tricks

|

4/21/2018 11:22 AM

BMX would mean nothing without abubacas.

|

4/21/2018 2:13 PM