Bunny Hops Cause Bad Wrist Pain

Related:
Create New Tag

12/7/2013 2:38 PM

Ever since I started learning bunny hops (about a month ago) they have hurt my wrists, and its not from landing them, its from pulling up on the bars really hard to get the front up and then pulling up and forward to level it out. It stretches my tendons out. Every time I practice them intensely I need to wait a couple days for either my right or left wrist to heal cuz it hurts really bad, like i have trouble rotating my wrist to even open a door. The pain is always at the bony part of the wrist where the bone is like sticking out. Last time I was practicing them I was going over 2x4's starting with one and building up to like 7, its a really good method btw, it was the highest I ever bunny hopped and I had to pull up realllly hard (hardest i ever did) to make it over. I was fine till i got home and then i realized that i really screwed up my wrist bad, i couldnt do anything with my arm, the slightest movement brought unbearable pain and i could feel the tendon hurting from where the bone sticks out on the wrist all the way up my arm. It took days to use my wrist even a little bit. I know that wrist pain in BMXing is common but i dont think that having it as bad as i did is.. so now my question is, when doing a bunny hop do you use your body weight only to pull the front up or do you also use your arms first to push up and then extend them and pull the bike up really hard, which is what i do. Tell me the technique/sequence of events you use to bunny hop. Has anyone ever had wrist problems from pulling up?

|

12/7/2013 2:42 PM
Edited Date/Time: 12/7/2013 2:43 PM

this is completely normal , all my friends started bunny hops at the same time and for a good month and a half we would get wrist pains , your wrist just need to adjust and strengthen , it should go away in no time
EDIT : if this keep up id suggest buying bars with more upsweep

|

12/7/2013 2:48 PM