Colony Freecoaster Issue

Related:
Create New Tag

4/6/2016 5:42 AM
Edited Date/Time: 4/6/2016 5:43 AM

Hey guys, I bought this coaster a few weeks ago, been pretty easy on it. Before I go on, please note I work as a mechanic so I'm not a complete idiot when it comes to working on things lol. But anyways, I went to take it apart, clean and regrease it, adjust the slack a bit, put it back together properly, I even followed a tutorial on how to do so since this is my first freecoaster. Now, it will pedal somewhat forward, but it feels really tense. Pedaling backwards is almost impossible for some reason. I go to kick it backwards and it goes around maybe an 1/8th of a crank if that. Mind you, the chain is already really loose, so it can't be that. Also tried it with the chain being tighter. So far I've taken it apart about 4 times now, cleaning and regreasing, checking for stripped, warped parts, and can't find anything. Anybody have any suggestions?

|

4/6/2016 7:53 AM

It could possibly be that you have tightened the drive side nut (the one that holds the driver on) too tightly or you blew the driver bearing somehow.

|

4/6/2016 9:10 AM

get some tech support from the shop you ordered it from or try contacting Colony themselves. Sorry, I don't have any freecoaster experience. Hope you get it resolved

|

4/6/2016 10:47 AM

I had this coaster before, and this problem is not caused by a too much tighten cone nut (drive side) because even supertighten, the wheel move normally, if it's loose the wheel will wobble side to side.