Dans, Empire or Albes for custom wheels?

Related:
Create New Tag

4/11/2014 2:02 PM

So I finally blew out the axle on my stolen revolver front wheel. Really surprised at how long it lasted. Reviews on it are terrible but mine was doing just fine until I started learning 180 to smiths. So now im looking for who you guys prefer to get custom wheels from. I remember hearing the guys at dans were lacing their wheels in an unusual pattern. Share your experiences. Thanks.

O and gonna go for marmoset w/ hazard light most likely.

|

References - jared42069

4/11/2014 2:13 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/11/2014 2:13 PM

empire laced my current wheelset. i think they did a pretty solid job, wheels were perfectly straight and all spokes were properly tight. never got wheels from dans or albes so i cant say much about them

|

You're never too old to have fun.

Bike
Summer riding

4/11/2014 2:34 PM

Excuse me if im wrong, but a wheel is a wheel. Aslong as it is true, dish, and has the correct spoke pattern and tension, it will be just as strong no matter who laced it or how they did it. All 3 of the companies listed know how to lace/true/dish a wheel so it shouldn't make a difference who you get it from.

Majority of the bad reputations towards a company's lacing are full blown retarded. Its usually the riders fault for not maintaning their wheel properly. Every freshly built wheel will "wear in", or have spokes adjust/stretch to fit the wheel better. This results in them becoming loose and that results in the wheel pulling out of true much easier. Aslong as you tighten the spokes up when the wheel wears in after the first session or two, you should be fine.

Order from whoever has what you want for the best price. Theyre all great companies.

|

Refs : SnM An1mal, GThompson121, Chuck8273, blizzbikes, bmxsteve99, kevin.brock.338, zinum, Brian_Griffin, billyhandyjunior, riverM, tomdon
Instagram : @timhankinsbmx

4/11/2014 2:36 PM