Dented Rim

Related:
Create New Tag

8/14/2013 9:44 AM

Hello guys, I'm fairly new to BMX and today I dented my rim by catching a ledge in my back wheel. This also made a rip in the tire and two rips in my tube. I have fixed my tube, and I don't think a rip in the tire would affect anything. However, I don't know whether to buy a new rim or keep my old one with the dent in it. Should I always replace the rim, no matter how big the dent is?

Here are some photos:

Photo

Photo

Photo

|

8/14/2013 9:49 AM

not as bad as mine was and my dad just hammered it out.

|

Bruh

8/14/2013 9:52 AM
Edited Date/Time: 8/14/2013 10:08 AM

Oook, I'll probably do that then.

Edit: Well I tried that, without any luck. It barely did anything, and I stopped because I didn't want to make it any worse.

|

8/14/2013 10:12 AM

try using vice grips or pliers to bend it back out. if that don't work then get a new rim. that's right on the bead. not a good spot to have a dent

|

I'm on the vital legit list!

8/14/2013 10:15 AM

Pliers didn't help... I guess I'll have to buy a new rim, any good (and cheap) reccomendations from here? http://www.soulcycle.com/Articles.aspx?CurrentCat=SP&CatCode=SP_RIMS&SelectedCat=|SP_RIMS| Like I said I'm still a nub so I don't need anything too good.

|

8/14/2013 10:22 AM

What's your budget?

|

8/14/2013 10:24 AM

and how many spokes are on your back wheel?

|

8/14/2013 10:25 AM

Hammer it that's what I did

|

GO BIG OR GO HOME!!!!!!!

8/14/2013 10:39 AM

36 spokes, and budget is probably 50, unless there is something really good for 60.

|

8/14/2013 10:47 AM

go with the shadow stun. or if you can get the money go for the demolition zero

|

8/14/2013 10:48 AM

Wassili wrote:

36 spokes, and budget is probably 50, unless there is something really good for 60.

Look on Danscomp for rims and sort it by ascending price lowest to highest.

|

Latest Bike Check/Update

Bought from: adam1234, tomdon (2), oscarbmx, the balt, smokesmokesmoke