Do I really need to grease my parts?

Related:
Create New Tag

8/21/2014 3:26 PM

So, I've been riding for about 3 years now, and I've always heard that we should grease most parts on our bikes, such as headset, hubs, cranks, etc.
I understand the reason why grease is good thing. Grease reduces the friction between moving parts, increasing the life span of such moving parts, but I barely grease anything at all, and I've never had any problems of parts failing or breaking due to the lack of grease.
I also understand that grease makes the installation of some parts easier.
I like to keep my bike clean and dialed, I frequently check if everything is working properly. I ride almost everyday, and 90% of my riding consists of park riding. Some guys I ride with have problems on their bikes on a regular basis, like creaking headsets and cranks/bb's, stripped bolts, etc, even though they use grease while I don't use grease and my bike rarely has any problem.
So, do you guys think I've been lucky all this time for not greasing anything at all or is grease just an option?

|

8/21/2014 3:38 PM

its a good idea imo
i had my bb just shit out after over 3 years, my stem bolts never get stuck, my pedals come off easier, my headset is still kicking after 3 years, and my hubs are a lot smoother.
its a good idea if you want to make sure parts last longer and reduce the "oh shit" moments when a bolt wont come out and you strip the head.

|

refs: hookjrclc, hardbmxtim, hatchmoses for sale and trade, kymike for sale and trade, blizzbikes for trade, and some other dude i cant remember his username, vrsapat956, colonydirt94, mario.villegas90, wolfen
Camera Setup: Panasonic HMC150, Panasonic GH2, Canon FTBn, Yashica Lynx 5000e, Canon 28mm f/2.8, Canon 50mm f1.4, Rokinon 7.5mm f/3.5

8/21/2014 4:24 PM

I would call it luck, or there was grease/lube in some way in there already. usually new parts come with some on them (bearings, spindles etc.)

|