Does taller rise handle bars such as 9.25" make pulling up easier?

Related:
Create New Tag

1/16/2020 9:43 PM

I'm fairly new to BMX and the first bike I bought had 10" rise bars, I bent them and got 8.75" and my forearms been killing me. I can naturally jet hop really high so I can't really tell if it made it harder but it definitely made it feel weird. I'm 5'6 and I'm about to buy a new pair of bars that are 9.25" but I'd figured I'd get some insight from more experienced riders on other than your lower back being more straight, what are other benefits of taller bars? Thanks 👍

|

1/17/2020 5:35 AM

If you dont mlike the geo of lower bars id say upgrade a bit, ive been all across the board of bar rises, i personally like them higher at the 9 and a half range but im currently riding some 8.75's. Like anything, youll get used to it if you ride it long enough but, if you feel likke you could do for some more height send it. Riding higher bars makes my back feel better than to be hunched over the bars. Im a street rider primarilly so i just jib around my city for the most part. If you ride park or dirt and feel like you should be "more in control" you might wanna go to shorter bars. That just my opinion on the topic if anyone has better information, take theirs. Im just going off what i think from my experience.

|

"What the hell is the noise coming from?!"

1/17/2020 9:58 AM

Goonie Rooney wrote:

I'm fairly new to BMX and the first bike I bought had 10" rise bars, I bent them and got 8.75" and my forearms been killing me. I can naturally jet hop really high so I can't really tell if it made it harder but it definitely made it feel weird. I'm 5'6 and I'm about to buy a new pair of bars that are 9.25" but I'd figured I'd get some insight from more experienced riders on other than your lower back being more straight, what are other benefits of taller bars? Thanks 👍

You're gonna hear a range of opinions on here from yes to no.