Dropouts

Related:
Create New Tag

3/27/2018 6:38 AM

I'm new to building bikes built my first one and I'm wondering is there anyway to tighten my chain. Without putting it so far back on my frame I really hate having it like that Photo

|

3/27/2018 6:40 AM

Take a (half) link out. Or two.

|

BMX over 30: Eat clean, Stretch, and Pray.

3/27/2018 6:43 AM

TheDarkEnergist wrote:

Take a (half) link out. Or two.

If I take off another don't think it will reach

|

3/27/2018 6:50 AM

conorbmx98 wrote:

If I take off another don't think it will reach

Well...hold on a minute.

You want your chain tight and it's pretty much a fixed length once it's stretched, so the axle is going to have to be at or near the point of tension in the dropouts if you want it tight.

If you want your back wheel further into the dropout, AND to have your chain as tight as it was, you need to remove a half link, unscrew the chain tensioners a bit (I'm assuming that's whats coming through the dropout in the right side of the picture) and set your axle further towards the front of the bike.

|

3/27/2018 7:43 AM

But it won't tighten if I have it further in and the chain won't go on if I take another link off am i stuck with this

|

3/27/2018 7:57 AM

conorbmx98 wrote:

But it won't tighten if I have it further in and the chain won't go on if I take another link off am i stuck with this

Taking another link out should be fine, just looking at the pics. When you take a half link out, the difference is half of a half-link because it's split between the top and bottom.

|

My Sunday Soundwave V3 Build
Insta: @p.gibbons

"You can't educate pork"
- grumpySteve

"Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!""
- Hunter S. Thompson

3/27/2018 8:04 AM

conorbmx98 wrote: