Easiest way to paint black anodized frame forks bars and cranks army green?

Related:
Create New Tag

10/28/2013 5:23 PM

I'm pretty new to this and on a budget, can i just rattle can some paint and primer combo on and go shred? Everyone says my bike looks shitty so i want to make it look more og than Topsey

|

10/28/2013 5:42 PM

Are those parts aluminum? cause to my knowledge, you cannot anodize steel, just aluminum.

You wanna get all the paint off each part. Sand paper works, but paint stripper works better. Get the paint entirely off and lightly sand them afterwards. Wipe it down then and make sure there aren't any little flakes of paint leftover anywhere.

Next you'll wanna cover anything you don't want painted such as the threads & splines in the cranks, the knurling on the handle bars, where your headset & BB bearings go in your frame, brake mounts too, fork race, stuff like that.

Paint & primer from a rattle can will work, follow SBC's instructions here and you'll be fine. I used his how-to when painting my rims and they came out excellent

|

10/28/2013 5:44 PM

sundaybmxRR wrote:

Are those parts aluminum? cause to my knowledge, you cannot anodize steel, just aluminum.

You wanna get all the paint off each part. Sand paper works, but paint stripper works better. Get the paint entirely off and lightly sand them afterwards. Wipe it down then and make sure there aren't any little flakes of paint leftover anywhere.

Next you'll wanna cover anything you don't want painted such as the threads & splines in the cranks, the knurling on the handle bars, where your headset & BB bearings go in your frame, brake mounts too, fork race, stuff like that.

Paint & primer from a rattle can will work, follow SBC's instructions here and you'll be fine. I used his how-to when painting my rims and they came out excellent

Sweet. My frame has a cromo triangle so idk if its anodized. Would this colorway look cool? Is stripping paint expensive or hard?

|

10/28/2013 6:02 PM