BMX newbie questions

Related:
Create New Tag

11/26/2013 7:52 AM

Hello,
I'm a newbie and I have some questions to ask. Some of my questions maybe stupid to you but I don't have THAT knowledge with bikes. And also, I'm not really good at English I might not explain it clearly enough.

1. When I have pegs, my axle slides in my dropout when I pedal and i loose tension on my chain. What is the proper way of installing a peg? I do it like this cone nut - lock nut - dropouts - pegs - washer - axle nut. Is this right?

2. Is there any way to give tension to my chain without using chain tensioners? Or is there a substitute for a chain tensioner? (I know this one is kinda stupid because I can buy tensioner because they are cheap. But for me it's not! It's expensive for me I am only given Php100 [$2.3] when I have school [i only have 2 days of school per week])

3. I still own a standard chain, and I want my wheels to be slammed on my CS because my CS is long(13.75). I took of pieces from my chain and got the length that would make my wheel slammed. But both ends where different (1 outerplate and 1 inner plate it is supposed to have both inner plate so that the masterlink would work). Can I use a half link chain to connect it?

4. Some of the terms I'm not familiar of... Sometimes when I look at parts for sale there are terms like double butted/multiple butted etc. what does butted mean?

|

You say BMX is your life but you barely ride.
BUT hey, That's none of my business.

11/26/2013 8:08 AM

|

11/26/2013 8:08 AM

1. Yes. Sounds like it is either not tight enough, there might be axle damage (stripped nut etc) OR the paint on your dropout is allowing it to slip. If you are ok with it, try sanding the paint off the inside of the peg and the dropout where the peg touches. Might help.