Fixing a loose rear hub

Related:
Create New Tag

3/24/2009 11:49 PM

so my rear hub came loose a couple weeks ago and the hweel was a bit wobbly, so i tighten it and it runs fine for a few mins and then its just wobbly as crap again, any recommendations? or maybe anyone know whats the problem?

|

I follow my own style, because all the others suck...

3/25/2009 1:03 AM

first. make sure all the bearings are there.
then check the cone and inside of hub for any damage( nicks/bumps or lines/grooves )
then if none proceed with following. re-lube and place bearings back in spot. and
then make sure the axle is centered properly, then set and lock down the drive side cone and nut, then use non drive side to make adjustments. hub adjustments are hard if uve never done them. ive been doing them for 10+ years. sometimes the adjustments just dont want to stay... its 3am here and havent slept in a while. but i think i covered it all. good luck.

if any damage. go and replace those parts. worn parts can cause hubs to come loose. and further wreck the wheel

|

got bike?

refs: showtime402, effigy, dallas6689, freddydapice

3/25/2009 6:06 AM

mnsketch wrote:

first. make sure all the bearings are there.
then check the cone and inside of hub for any damage( nicks/bumps or lines/grooves )
then if none proceed with following. re-lube and place bearings back in spot. and
then make sure the axle is centered properly, then set and lock down the drive side cone and nut, then use non drive side to make adjustments. hub adjustments are hard if uve never done them. ive been doing them for 10+ years. sometimes the adjustments just dont want to stay... its 3am here and havent slept in a while. but i think i covered it all. good luck.

if any damage. go and replace those parts. worn parts can cause hubs to come loose. and further wreck the wheel

^^ assuming it's got looseball bearings.