Good Bike or not?

Related:
Create New Tag

5/30/2016 9:09 PM
Edited Date/Time: 5/30/2016 9:11 PM

I'm fairly new to bmx and am looking to buy a good bike without breaking the bank.I posted earlier about one I found on craigslist but it already sold. I found this other one but I don't know if these parts and the custom bike as a whole is good and if it's worth what he is asking. Could some people look at it and let me know?

Here is the bike: http://stlouis.craigslist.org/bik/5587538188.html

Thanks!!
By the way, I'm mainly interested in park riding along with some street I guess.

|

5/30/2016 9:55 PM

For $200, that's actually not a bad deal at all. The parts are pretty damn good, but the frame uses a standard headtube and American BB. I can't find much on the frame without knowing what year it is, so I'm not sure if it's hi-tensile steel, chromoly, or a mixture... Either way for $200 for those parts, not a bad deal at all. I'd say go for it.

|

5/30/2016 10:11 PM

sundaybmxRR wrote:

For $200, that's actually not a bad deal at all. The parts are pretty damn good, but the frame uses a standard headtube and American BB. I can't find much on the frame without knowing what year it is, so I'm not sure if it's hi-tensile steel, chromoly, or a mixture... Either way for $200 for those parts, not a bad deal at all. I'd say go for it.

I'm new so I don't know what standard headtube means or American bb. Could you elaborate? Also, I just asked him what the frame was made from.

|

5/30/2016 10:32 PM

Vital has a good explanation in the product section

Bottom Brackets

Headsets

Basically a standard headtube means the headset is known as a standard headset. 2 cups are pressed into the frame at the headtube (Where the forks go through to meet the stem, see this photo if you're still confused) and then the headset bearings will sit in those cups (Typically they're also unsealed which don't last as long as sealed bearings do, but there are also sealed standard bearings.)