Has anyone gone from 20.5 to a 20.25 top tube and does it really make that much of a difference?

Related:
Create New Tag

12/4/2019 12:24 PM

I have two bikes. I started riding on a 20.5tt and got and got another bike for spare parts that is a 20.25 and about a half inch shorter chainstay. I decided to ride it the other day and noticed how much smaller it felt. Which made spins and manuals noticably easier. I'm just wondering if anyone has experienced a similar situation and if a quarter of an inch actually makes that big of a difference or is it's just in my head? I'm 5'6 and 140lbs. Any info and suggestions are much appreciated, Thanks! Also, I know it's personal preference and all that but curious about how dramatic Top tube length really matters to such a small degree?

|

12/4/2019 1:24 PM

its mostly in your head, but i too love smaller frames/bars. i'm currently riding a 20" frame with 7.5 bars lol. i'm 5'11

|

fack off

12/4/2019 1:28 PM

Shouldn't be much different. The only time I've noticed a difference in frame feel was going from a 20.35'' to a 21'' frame but that was also due to the back end being significantly longer too. But a quarter of an inch won't be much different, if any different, and if the shorter frame is nicer to ride then definitely ride it.

|

12/4/2019 3:01 PM

Your feeling the rear end most. The 1/4" tt probably not near as much noticeable. Also, the headtube angles can make a big noticeable difference in "felt" bike size. I've been through the entire spectrum of bmx frame sizes and geometries. Suprisingly I ended liking a frame that falls in the middle of the spectrum of sizes currently available concerning geo and lengths..... ride what you feel most fun.

|

12/4/2019 6:21 PM
Edited Date/Time: 12/4/2019 6:26 PM

I’ve posted this many times before but: