Headset issues.

Related:
Create New Tag

3/3/2015 1:07 AM

Ever since about half a year ago, my top bearing race started seizing up. Usually, I'd be able to slip it off and on quite easily. I started having to hammer out my forks and doing that, I feel that the bearing does take some unnecessary force. I actually broke a bearing over the weekend trying to take apart my spare bike. I did see the problem and tried to put grease there, but all it does is occasionally shift the race around in the headset, which is normal. I usually line up the slit in the race exactly aligned and usually when I take apart my headset, it stays the same due to me not running grease back then. But honestly, I have no idea what the issue is. Couldn't possibly be rust cause I've been running the same headset for almost 4 years now and started switching headset races after I kinda de-formed the first one.

|

Latest Bike Check/Update

Bought from: adam1234, tomdon (2), oscarbmx, the balt, smokesmokesmoke

3/3/2015 4:44 AM

This would be a good time for new head set. 4 yrs on a head set With out grease at times.

|

F¬ Bom 5403692331

3/3/2015 4:55 AM

That's why I change my bearings yearly regardless of issues. Cheap insurance and peace of mind.

|

Da Laird

unfuckwithable ill

Refs-brokenbmx, MaximusBikes, Brian_Griffin, Colonydirt94, Aebasher

3/3/2015 7:27 AM

Brian_Griffin wrote:

This would be a good time for new head set. 4 yrs on a head set With out grease at times.

mine is 6 years old without trouble. smile

But seriously, if you have bearing cups that press in, replace the whole works. If you have integrated, replace the whole works.

|

"Hey anybody ever make that mistake like right when you wake up in the morning and you believe in yourself?" -Kyle Kinane

"BIKES!" -Tom Segura

3/3/2015 7:38 AM

Just get a new headset and if it is a standard one, upgrade to a sealed one.