Help choosing a bmx bike

Related:
Create New Tag

1/12/2017 8:00 PM

I'm fairly new to BMX biking, I've been riding mountain bikes all my life so I'm an experienced rider but I want to do street tricks and go to my local skate park. The nicest one I've seen so far is this one:

https://www.danscomp.com/products/102739/2017_Kink_Launch_Bike.html

I also like this one because the price point is appealing:

http://www.the-house.com/qfrattx20bkyl16zz-framed-bmx-bikes.html

My price limit is around $300. I'm 6 foot 1 inch and I weigh 170 lbs. I want the best quality I can find at this price. Every single bike I've ever owned, I always tear the shit out of them because I'm a rough rider. I understand this is a pretty low price limit, but I just started working.

Thanks for helping.

|

1/12/2017 8:19 PM

do not get the framed.....please

|

1/12/2017 8:25 PM

JRsmoothee wrote:

do not get the framed.....please

Is Framed known for being a bad company?

|

1/12/2017 9:24 PM

I dont know much about the brand framed but i would say the kink launch is a somewhat better bike

|

1/12/2017 9:30 PM

ina wrote:

I dont know much about the brand framed but i would say the kink launch is a somewhat better bike

Alright thanks, thats probably what im going to buy

|

1/13/2017 5:18 AM

you might want to save a bit more money or widen the budget to allow for a full chromoly skeleton on your bike. If you are an experienced MTBer, you might expect the BMX to last through some big landings. The hi-tensile steel is not as strong as Chromo, so there is the possibility that things will break. For me at least, I would rather invest more on the onset to save more down the road.

Things to look for in a BMX bike:
All of the skeletal structure that is going to bear weight should be full chromoly:
full frame -> front triangle(TT, DT, ST) AND seat stay and chainstay....full Chromoly
fork: both the steering tube and the legs...full Chromoly
the handle bars...full Chromoly