Help installing new R32 forks

Related:
Create New Tag

9/3/2016 7:56 PM

Photo

HI all,

I just went to put my new Odyssey forks on (sweet fathers day present) and I've noticed that they are quite a bit longer than the forks I was replacing... Or maybe the steerer tube on the my frame (BSD Passenger) is quite short??

Anyway I'm off to the bike shop to either get it cut or get some spacers.

So my question is, are these forks known for being longer than others?

Sorry for my ignorance, I'm still pretty new to this tongue
|

9/3/2016 8:24 PM

They're about the same as other forks. Better for it to be too long than too short since you can always add spacers or cut it down.

|

9/3/2016 8:34 PM

Don't cut them , I know warranty from odyssey is good supposedly but it just becomes a mess , you can fuck it up and it's not worth it . I'd suggest run your stem with spacers below it to fill the gap and get used to the taller end ( a high front end feels awesome , especially for your back ) and keeps things simple .

|

Instagram : braydenbuckingham
My Cult 2 Short

9/3/2016 8:44 PM

Brayden_Buckingham wrote:

Don't cut them , I know warranty from odyssey is good supposedly but it just becomes a mess , you can fuck it up and it's not worth it . I'd suggest run your stem with spacers below it to fill the gap and get used to the taller end ( a high front end feels awesome , especially for your back ) and keeps things simple .

Cutting it down doesn't void the warranty, unless of course you cut it too short/cut the threads off. Then yeah that voids it.

But yeah, as long as you cut it straight using a saw guide or something, then file the edges down, it'll be just fine. I've done it to mine cause I personally hate a taller front end. I like mine slammed, but to each his own.

|

9/3/2016 11:04 PM