Help needed for child's bike

Related:
Create New Tag

11/14/2017 11:40 PM

Hello

Complete newbie here. I've been taking my 3.5 year old to the BMX track in Santa Clara. He has been racing in the balance bike races for 6 months and doing very well. He also has his own pedal bike without training wheels and has quickly got the hang of riding as fast as he can. He's been watching the bigger boys on the BMX course and I can tell he is Keen to give it a go. Now, I've seen big guys on very small bikes and small kids on bigger bikes, normal size wheels and very, very thin wheels. What would be a good bike size wise for him to start on? I'll let him try out a rental first but I'm curious as to what size we would look for. He will be 4 in January, and 42 inches tall. Also, any recommendations for bike shops in the San Francisco/ Bay area?

Thanks

|

11/15/2017 2:17 AM

Striders have 12in wheels there are 14in bikes if he is close to outgrow that size. Most people ride a 20in bike for bmx and for racing (older kids and adults) and tire size all depends on what you are doing racing seems to use a thinner tire bmx typically will use a larger tire.
Hope that helps

|

11/15/2017 4:04 AM

12inch at that age definitely. There are lot big companies that offer really good 12inch options, including 3 piece cranks etc.

|

If I could go a tenth as high as Larry Edgar goes, then I would still be blasting super high.

11/15/2017 5:38 AM

If he rides standing up all the time, get him the Cult 12" Juvi. If he's a sitter or awkward when standing, go with the spawn 16" Banshee.

|

11/15/2017 9:34 AM