How fast should I progress?

Related:
Create New Tag

10/3/2016 8:05 AM

I'm new to BMX and was wondering if I could have some insight on how fast I should progress and what the process should be like. I come from a BMX racing and downhill MTB background so I'm already comfortable on a bike. I've been riding a little just under a week but find tricks like barspin and tail whips difficult to commit to and try. I can't land 180s and 360 tire taps but just wanted to know if time will naturally make certain tricks easier or not? Any info is helpful, thanks!

|

10/3/2016 8:30 AM

It will mostly depend on how much you practice, and what your body is dispositioned to do.

I have found that things like jumps, bunny hops etc have come very natural to me...but other tricks like barspins, toboggans...anything that demands smaller dexterity type stuff, are foreign to me. I started back in the 70's and 80's with dirt racing and jumps, so that is natural. A lot of the "park" and freestyle stuff is coming to me slower b/c my balance, dexterity, and muscle strength are not hones towards that stuff yet. To me, a bunny hop into a 180 is A LOT differnt than one over an obstacle....like a straight hop.

It took me about 6 months to get my jumping skills back in order (after 20+ years off of BMX, but still in singletrack and bike packing MTcool, but has taken me a year to even get a 90 degree spin going. I can fakie for about 3 feet now, which took me almost 6 months to do, but my spin out of it is sloppy

Interesting too that when I was young, I could manual (we called them wheelies) for like a mile. Now, I am happy if I can get 4 feet...