How to deal with people watching you practice tricks

Related:
Create New Tag

12/30/2019 1:25 PM

I don't have social anxiety or nothing it's just that I feel pressured when people watch me ride and it makes it harder to practice cuz I'm thinking about that instead of the trick. It doesnt help that none of my friends ride so I go solo and have no one to help me relax ya know? I'm a beginner by the way I started riding about 2 weeks ago my bike was an early Christmas gift

|

12/30/2019 2:04 PM
Edited Date/Time: 12/30/2019 2:04 PM

I'm usually riding at 10-10:30 at night and I'm out in front of my own house. My neighbors might peek through their drapes if they hear me but I doubt it.

Now if you're around a lot of people, you just have to get used to it. Try to not think about the other people. I know, easier said than done. But I for sure would rather work on tricks I'm shaky on by myself.

Maybe just tell yourself no one really cares and if they care in the right way they're gonna be helpful. If they're judgy they're not worth a second thought. I know, still easier said than done.

|

12/30/2019 4:18 PM

If you see other bmx riders, go talk to them. Most are friendly and supportive, especially with someone new to the sport. I'm 36 and watch 20 year olds crush skateparks. They're all super supportive too. They'll cheer me on for simple tricks like a manual to a hop up to 180 out. Meanwhile, they're on the other side of the park throwing whips and bars. Bmxer's are cool.

|

12/30/2019 6:50 PM

Headphones in. Ignore.

Is it just random people walking around watching you? Or other riders at the park / street spot?

|

12/30/2019 7:01 PM

Put them out of your mind and think about the trick. Or use that anxiety to perform better, use that fear of looking bad to push yourself. Also who gives a damn what people think so who really cares. It also helps once you get better because you can show off.

|

12/30/2019 7:09 PM

tempocyclist wrote:

Headphones in. Ignore.