How to make a homemade crank installer-remover

Related:
Create New Tag

3/27/2020 1:22 PM

Hi vital I am just wondering how to make a homemade crank installer-remover as I just got my first pair of 48 spline cranks and want to have one for easy service but none of my lbs have one and I don't want to spend 20$ just for a tool i could make for probably 5$ all replies are greatly appreciated.

|

3/27/2020 2:03 PM

Honestly I’ve never had 48’s before but I’m sure you could use a bearing puller or something like that.

|

Gave up on BMX to hang out with 13 year old soundcloud rappers, what a life, such a cool guy!
-Sheldon on Adam22

"The only future for BMX"

Yeah, kids getting shit bikes, breaking them and then quitting. LOL
-jbales on mafiaBIKES

I’ve been a 14 year old beginner for the last ten years
-adamnmexican

3/27/2020 2:04 PM
Edited Date/Time: 3/27/2020 2:04 PM

Assuming they're a pretty normal set of 19mm cranks, a 3/8"x24TPI bolt and some washers larger than the spindle boss should make a pretty good install tool. The bolt would need to have a good number of threads engaged so when it starts pulling the crank on, it doesn't damage the threads in the spindle.

For removal, you could just put that same bolt into the spindle and hammer on it, again, ensuring that enough threads are engaged to avoid damaging the spindle threads.

|

My Sunday Soundwave V3 Build
Insta: @p.gibbons

"You can't educate pork"
- grumpySteve

"Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!""
- Hunter S. Thompson

3/27/2020 2:29 PM

a vice
a C clamp
A hammer / piece of wood
A bolt / washers as suggested above

don't forget to put grease in the frame where the bearings are going.

|

3/27/2020 2:31 PM

pnj wrote:

a vice
a C clamp
A hammer / piece of wood