I have no idea what I'm doing...

Related:
Create New Tag

6/10/2019 11:01 PM

...hen it comes to BMX. I've been riding mountain bikes for almost 20 years, I've worked in bike shops for the past 6 (albeit at a gravity park, very MTB specific), but have never had any exposure to BMX. I want to get into it for something new and fun to learn, and hopefully some will carry over to the big bike (and maybe even to skiing).

So I come to you for help! I've gathered that at 6'2"I need a 21.5/ProXL frame, probably 24" or maybe 20" wheels, and that hi-ten is bad (not really something I've encountered in the mtb world, especially now that everyone has a boner for carbon ). I'm a pretty solidly built dude, around 245lb right now, and I tend to have more power than finesse, so I'm guessing I really want to steer clear of hiten frames and components.
I want to primarily ride street, DJ and pump track (we have a pretty bangin' bike park in town here), probably won't ever get into flatland or racing.

I'm also currently building another endurbro mtb and building out a Sprinter, so budget is a little lower than ideal.

I have no idea what to look for in a bike, or really where for that matter. I've Googled a bit, but am still lost.
HELLLLLLLP!

Thanks in advance!

|

I do cool stuff

6/10/2019 11:28 PM

4130 chromoly is the best material you can get when it comes to BMX (unless you want to spend an absolute fortune on titanium). If you're wanting to ride proper BMX (jumping and doing tricks and stuff) I would definitely stick to 20" wheels.