I'm looking for a beginner bmx bike, I need help

Related:
Create New Tag

9/11/2017 9:26 PM

So I've been looking around the forums and it seems like the "hi-ten" bikes aren't that good. Does anyone know a good bmx bike that I can get for under $200 that is chromoly? I'm a complete beginner btw so I don't know much

|

9/11/2017 10:36 PM

Used is your best bet for that price range, problem with used though is people either truly dont know what parts they have or they take stickers on or off and lie about what parts they have.

For instance placing a sunday sticker on a frame does not make it so.

If you go the used route, dont be afraid to ask questions and if anything seems shady, it probably is.

If you are looking for a complete the L100 mongoose seems decent.

From what I researched the dropouts are made from hi-tensil steel not chromoly. But for the price, it is one of the better options imo. Dont worry about the association with walmart bikes. Just take the stickers off and paint the frame if you are concerned about others making fun.

Best of luck!

|

9/11/2017 11:24 PM

Under $200.00 and full ChroMoly, I'd go with the Mongoose Mode 900. It's pretty much exactly that.

|

Scooter kid trying to ride BMX.
Instagram: @scootereyn

9/12/2017 5:21 AM

Ditto on the Mongoose. Best bet for a complete other than used. But if you don't know what you are looking at... that could be a problem. Lastly, everyone bags on Hi-Tens steel. It's isn't that it's bad. It's that it isn't as strong or as light. but for your needs as a "complete beginner", I think it'd serve you well. If you decided to choose that route, be sure to buy a reputable brand (I suppose that's a good advice, no matter what you buy). There are a ton of junk bikes out there so feel free to ask here before you buy.

|

9/12/2017 9:13 AM

Yeah, the Mode 900 is the best bet in your price range if you can find it.