Is Hi-Tensile steel bad for beginners?

Related:
Create New Tag

8/31/2012 8:08 PM

Im a beginner, and wanted to buy the verde cadet complete. The frame is made of hi-tensile steel, and I heard that was very bad material. Im hitting tiny jumps, and the best trick I can do is manual for about 30 feet. Im not going to be jumping like 6 stairs, going to parks (maybe every once in a while, im no where near one) just riding mostly street. I just wanted a bike to get started on without paying tons of money for full cromo. As I improve I will upgrade parts until I eventually get a better bike.

|

8/31/2012 8:12 PM

My buddy got one at the start of this year I think and its held up fine. He blew out his tires, otherwise it's been fine.

|

Lol. Xzibit plz
Shakesman69: Seeing a girl on a bike is like seeing a unicorn walking down the main street.
Brokenbmx: i pooped butterflies once.

Bought from: Ridebmx456 TCbmx(x2) Wade., Ticaleb
Sold to: Sprocket: Mike - E, Front Hub: Kroller, Back wheel: imgoingtohavetocuthere
Local deal for a rear wheel with: bmx

8/31/2012 8:17 PM

you should be fine for a while, by the time it does actually break though you will probably need a upgrade anyways and be a lot better.

|

8/31/2012 8:26 PM

Street is generally harder on bikes than park, bikes dont like drops to flat.

Depends on how fast you progress, also what company I believe, in an FBM movie steve crandall talks about it, saying FBM makes there Hi ten bikes just as strong as chromo, they just weigh a little more.

|

8/31/2012 8:27 PM

i got a hi tensile complete when i was a complete beginner. i broke it in a little over year

|

8/31/2012 8:32 PM

i got a united recruit rn2 in january. it was my first real bike, and i couldn't hop more than an inch until i got it.
it's high tensile steel, and so far, i've replaced almost everything. the frame cracked, but if you can find a professional, you can get it welded. the forks bent, but it's mostly what you do, and how you use it.