Is street better for progression?

Related:
Create New Tag

6/23/2016 2:08 PM

I'm relatively new to BMX. I can bunny hop high curbs and learning footjams, footwhips and all types of foot variants. Trying fakies but struggling.

My point is, what should I work on now? Street or park? Which is better for overall pogression? And does riding with better riders make you better?

|

6/23/2016 2:28 PM

I go to parks to learn tricks. I often find its easier to learn stuff on smooth ledges/out of smooth transition, and then it's easy to apply them to the streets. But everyone is different, I'd say just ride whatever sounds like the most fun on that given day!

|

Refs : SnM An1mal, GThompson121, Chuck8273, blizzbikes, bmxsteve99, kevin.brock.338, zinum, Brian_Griffin, billyhandyjunior, riverM, tomdon
Instagram : @timhankinsbmx

6/23/2016 3:08 PM

Trails............everyone should know how to pump and keep momentum plus you'll develop style and not become another park robot. The amount of kids I run into that can bar spin and tail whip without knowing how to make it look good, 180, or fakie is amazing. So stupid.

|

Da Laird

unfuckwithable ill

Refs-brokenbmx, MaximusBikes, Brian_Griffin, Colonydirt94, Aebasher

6/23/2016 3:27 PM

park is best for progression since there's perfect ledges, rails and flyouts unlike in the streets

|

6/23/2016 8:09 PM

I am in the camp that is practicing and learning skills in the park so that I can eventually use them on street if I want. For me, failure on the streets can be more detrimental to my health...missing something could lead me to end up under a moving car, or running into people. At the park, if I have to bail, I only hurt myself and my bike. It is more controlled...