Letting Bikes In

Related:
Create New Tag

5/5/2014 12:29 PM

TL/DR AT BOTTOM

So I started riding when I was a little kid and stuck with it all through college. When I got a job 4 years ago, I kind of stopped riding. I rode on and off but it was tough because I put on weight. I recently shed a ton of that weight off and I am starting to ease back into riding again.

I recently moved to a suburb of Chicago called Oak Park and found out there is a skate park 2 blocks from my place. I did a walk by and didn't see any of the usual "signs", so I rode over a few days later during the beginning of Spring to see what happens. There were only 2 younger kids on skateboards there. They told me they never saw any bikes there before but they didn't mind if I rode around. I pedaled up and down some ramps for about 5 minutes before someone came out of the little building located between the skate park and basketball courts and told me I wasn't allowed there. Not really surprised, so I apologized and left.

My train passes this park, so for all of April I made sure to peek out the window as we passed around 5:30PM - prime time for people to be skating there since schools have already been let out for the day. Every evening, I was confused at what I saw. There were barely any skaters in the park. I never saw more than 8 people in there at once. Half the time I saw a father with a few little kids on scooters or running around with a dog. On the nicest days, there would only be half a dozen kids. Most of the time they are not even skating or look like they are there to skate.

Shocked (pissed) that the park wasn't being used to it's full potential, I found some emails of people at the park district from their site. I wrote to them to inform them that their park is just sitting there collecting dust as the BMX riders are forced to ride in the street or trespass to pursue their hobby. I was sure to include examples of near by parks that allow BMX bikes in as well.