Loose Spokes

Related:
Create New Tag

1/14/2018 6:08 AM
Edited Date/Time: 1/14/2018 6:09 AM

Hi, I'm riding a primo remix complete wheel for a year now. It is still pretty true but today I noticed that basically all of the spokes are pretty loose and some of them are even bent. It's still pretty true though and so I didn't realize it in the first place. I have no experience with truing wheels. What should I do?

|

1/14/2018 6:16 AM

It depends on how mechanical you are. You can watch a video on YouTube & try to true your wheels yourself or you can bring in your bike & have a shop do it. In wouldn't continue riding (at least riding street, park, trails, or DJ) on that wheel. Honestly, if I were you, I'd just take both your wheels in, have them true them. Then, if you can find yourself an old junk wheel, get some proper tools & learn to do it yourself.

|

1/14/2018 7:54 AM

If your wheel is already fairly true then start with one side of the spokes and rotate each nipple a half or whole turn at a time depending on how much slack you need out. Just snug them don't crank down on em or you'll strip the soft metal and have a hard time adjusting again. Flip the wheel and repeat the same process as the previous side so that it doesn't get pulled out of true because you tightened up each spoke evenly on both sides. If you have a spot thats pulled one way or the other you can tighten the opposite side to pull it into true. If you strip a nipple then go down one size on the wrench and force it on or just say fuck it if it's decent enough. If you have brakes you can use them as a ghetto truing stand assuming your frame isn't bent and the brake pads are an equal distance from the rim. Don't trust it too much if your brake arms are really uneven tho. It takes practice but I hope this helps a little. If your rim has mad wobbles it can be tedious at first but you'll get it, you can always loosen if the nipple bottoms out, it's a better alternative to stripping em

|

@coupd_tat