Low pressure in tyres - cheating?

Related:
Create New Tag

4/10/2019 2:52 AM
Edited Date/Time: 4/10/2019 2:57 AM

As the title says, is it cheating if you use LP to do tricks?

I have better control and can hop higher but I feel it's just because of the rebound and it's making me do/learn stuff the wrong way.

When I started riding I was using around 80 psi, and gradually lowered it, now I use around 30, even 40 seems too hard now...

What are your thoughts?

|

4/10/2019 3:12 AM
Edited Date/Time: 4/10/2019 3:14 AM

am-shaegar wrote:

I have better control and can hop higher but I feel it's just because of the rebound and it's making me do/learn stuff the wrong way.

When I started riding I was using around 80 psi, and gradually lowered it, now I use around 30, even 40 seems too hard now...

What are your thoughts?

I was the same, used to run 80psi, now Im around 40-50 depending on what surface Im riding on. I don't personally feel like I can hop any higher because of psi but I'm dont doubt it is a factor. I like the lower psi for comfort improved traction.

Nothing is cheating, it's freestyle.

|

4/10/2019 3:45 AM

You are wasting your time with low pressure , you can do everything you can on low pressure with high pressure faster and higher with high psi , you aren’t helping yourself with low pressure

|

4/10/2019 4:12 AM

And so begins the great pressure war of 2019.

|

4/10/2019 5:10 AM

High psi hurts my thumbs ????

|

4/10/2019 5:33 AM

Just ride whatever you want, whatever makes riding feel comfortable for you.

|

I don't crash, I do random gravity checks...

4/10/2019 5:38 AM
Edited Date/Time: 4/10/2019 8:36 AM

yes it's cheating. Until you ride a bowl or ramp, then high pressure is cheating.

Riding plastic pegs is also cheating. Until you wanna grind up those brick ledges 2 towns over, then metal pegs are cheating.

Freecoasters are cheating, Until you wanna do one of the 40 things that pedal pressure rules for, then Cassettes are cheating.