Mafia Hate

Related:
Create New Tag

10/19/2017 9:41 AM

So, I'm pretty new to current BMX. I was a huge fan in the late 90s and early 00s, but kinda lost interest until recently. I'm not very knowledgeable about the sport as a whole, and have only very recently heard of Harry Main. Apparently he got a lot of hate from joining Mafia bikes. Why? According to his words, he did it to help make bikes more available to those who couldn't afford more expensive ones. This doesn't really add up because they sell $400 hi ten bikes (as well as cheaper ones, but not chromoly according to my research) when you can spend the same and get a more durable full chromoly. It would seem Mongoose already has that covered. I've seen a few of Main's vids on YouTube and he seems knowledgeable and likable. Why do most folks seem to hate Mafia bikes as a whole, and in turn, Main for joining them? Did I answer my own question with the "doesn't add up" bit? My apologies if this is a dead horse issue. I'm just nosy and haven't found a satisfying answer through google.

|

10/19/2017 9:50 AM
Edited Date/Time: 10/19/2017 9:51 AM

Because, in general, mafia sells junk to kids. Their "cheap bikes" are, in fact cheap. Cheaply made. But still expensive to buy for what you get. Some people don't like Harry's attitude, etc... Others think he "sold out".

Mafia's high end stuff is probably nice, but again, there are a ton of other companies to buy from that are as good or better, aren't as expensive, and don't sell junk to kids.

|

10/19/2017 10:14 AM

Seems like this thread gets made every week

|

10/19/2017 10:14 AM

eskimojay wrote:

Seems like this thread gets made every week

It has lately, huh?

|

10/19/2017 12:56 PM