Merritt Freecoaster

Related:
Create New Tag

7/4/2017 3:19 AM

As a flatlander I've been using freecoaster hubs for almost 20 years, mainly Nankai and KHE.

I've been running my current KHE Geisha Lite hub for the last 5 years or so but I think its time for a change.

Having looked at what's currently on the market I think I have settled on the Merritt Final Drive.

Just wondering if anyone has any experience with it?

I really like the idea of using a bushing in the driver as this is where my KHE failed most often.
Having watched the assembly video on the Merritt YouTube page I notice that the driver has some side to side play. Obviously this is to keep the driver running freely with as little resistance as possible, especially considering that its a bushing rather than a bearing.
When the wheel is in the frame is the side to side play noticeable? If so, can you just snug up the cone nuts and deal with a little extra resistance? Having play in my back wheel would drive me insane.
|

7/4/2017 10:14 AM

I haven't had any experience with Merritt hubs, but I know Austin Augie rides one (not sure which). So I'm guessing they are pretty good.

|

7/4/2017 11:55 AM

Was just about to mention Augie, lol. I can agree that if the Final Drive can hold up to his abuse, it'll be fine on flatland.

|

Scooter kid trying to ride a bike.
@scootereyn

7/4/2017 12:16 PM

Topseys buddy had one and he told me something went wrong with the driver and Merritt refused to help him out , like they got in contact once and after that they ignored all his calls and emails . Mind you I don't know the story but that kinda sucks ... it does look like a really good coaster though and Blake Yard rode one and he loved it

|

Instagram : braydenbuckingham
My Cult 2 Short

7/4/2017 2:34 PM