Mongoose legion l100

Related:
Create New Tag

11/29/2016 3:01 PM

Hi all.. New to this forum. Sorry if this question has been asked, but for $230 (down from $299) is this a decent entry level bike? I don't care that it says mongoose on it..it's a full chomoly frame and everything is sealed. I'm 49 and won't be beating on this thing..just want something to mess around on near my house when I'm not mountain biking. I was about to purchase the mode 900, but I'm almost positive it doesn't have a sealed bb. The other main difference is the fork on the l100 doesn't seem to be 100% chromo, but I don't know if that's really a big deal.. I think I'd rather have a sealed bb. The tt is 21 on the legion and 20.5 on the mode.. Think I'd like the extra room, but who knows.. I'm new to this stuff. Anyway, any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks people!

|

11/29/2016 4:40 PM
Edited Date/Time: 11/29/2016 4:42 PM

I am no expert or even close but just giving my two cents. I dont ride , but did have a mongoose years ago. From what I have seen through my research which is about 2-3 weeks worth I think 230 for the l100 is a great deal. The mode 900 which has some unsealed bearings but should be the same bike , I have seen priced for 167.00 with christmas specials and is pretty much the same bike. Which is a great price. Anything else chromolly will start in price around 400 dollars and up it seems and probably not full chromolly at 400. If you get the mode 900 , which is a great deal, it will definitely not get stolentongue
The chromolly is wanted for its strength and lighter weight. If you have the funds there is definitely better quality to be had. If a new bike is not a concern you will get more for your money buying used, just be careful you dont get some one else junk.

|

11/30/2016 12:41 AM

I'd go with the 900. For the same price, it's worth getting that 100% ChroMoly fork alongside the frame and bars.