My first BMX

Related:
Create New Tag

7/22/2017 8:45 AM

Hi guys, I need some help. Yesterday I bought my first BMX and I m really enjoying. But my BMX is an old one and I want to build my own BMX from scratch, I want to buy all the parts separately and build the bike myself, part by part. Can you tell me all the parts and pieces that I new to buy? I have the money but I'm new to the BMX world and I don't know all the parts and pieces that I need, can you make a list of all parts and pieces that a need? Thanks in advance for your help

|

7/22/2017 9:14 AM
Edited Date/Time: 7/22/2017 9:55 AM

Frame (ideally made in 4130 chromoly)
Bars (ideally made in 4130 chromoly)
Forks (ideally made in 4130 chromoly)
Stem and compression cap
Handgrips
Barends
Brakes (can be optional)
Bottom Bracket Bearings(these will depend on what size spindle your cranks have)
Cranks (ideally made in 4130 chromoly)
Chain
Wheels, (which can be further broken down into Hubs, Spokes and Rims)
Tyres
Pedals
Headset bearings
Sprocket
Seat
Inner tubes

I think that's it. there is more "optional stuff" you could add like a gyro or pegs, but the above should be enough to get you rolling, Might also be worth just sticking with your current bike while learning the basics, having a nice shiny custom is great and all but picking up some basic skills on a older bike wont do you any harm, and it'll probably mean you dropping and scrapping up the new one a bit less leaving it looking better for longer.

it'll also mean when you do come to do a build you'll have a better idea of what parts you want to fit, for example there's tons of different brands out there and different models of stuff, like do you buy an Odyssey, BSD, Stranger or Primo stem? Front load or top load? what colour? etc etc

|

7/22/2017 9:51 AM