Need help choosing budget wheelset

Related:
Create New Tag

10/12/2017 10:38 PM
Edited Date/Time: 10/12/2017 10:45 PM

I recently started riding after forever, im 35yrs. I need a new wheelset and my budget is 180$ ive been eyeing the Revenge Industries set but on ebay i can buy a set of Cinema tungsten or cinema zx wheels for 180$ or so.
Ive seen brands like Mission, verde, stolen... have wheels for around the same price. Any suggestions colors or brands dont matter, im not afraid of paint. Thanks.

|

10/12/2017 10:59 PM

They're probably all really similar to be honest. Cinema make good rims, but their cheaper rims, and the hubs on those wheels are probably pretty much just rebranded, like you'd get on a half decent complete.
As long as they're double wall and welded, with good sealed bearings (2 in the shell, 4 in the driver, or bushes in the driver), they'll do the job

|

10/12/2017 11:07 PM
Edited Date/Time: 10/12/2017 11:08 PM

Thanks, the only welded rims are the tungsten wheels (777 rim). This is my bike and the wheels dont roll well and im always fixing the rims because i case on stuff often. So, i need new wheels but im gonna smash those too while i learn

Photo

|

10/13/2017 5:07 AM

What tire pressure are you running that you are fixing you rims often? Not that this is an answer to your quest for a new wheelset but if you get a new wheelset but still run 40 PSI, you'll be in this same situation in no time. Higher pressure tires will help keep your rims dent-free.

|

10/13/2017 5:25 AM

I would defiantly recommend the Revenge Industry wheelset for sure... they seem very solid and I know DanTheBikerMan on here rode them and he said they held up pretty well... also what Mishinn_Control said about tire pressure... if you run power tire pressure then you'll dent and damage your rims more.... so run higher tire pressure and it should happen less often...

|

I don't crash, I do random gravity checks...

10/13/2017 8:31 AM