Need some help , 20.5 TT for 6 feet is ok?

Related:
Create New Tag

5/25/2016 1:24 PM
Edited Date/Time: 5/25/2016 1:24 PM

Hy, I am 26 years old , 6 ft tall and and i ve just bought an Eastern TrailDigger 2010, 20.5 Top Tube , 8 inch rise handlebar. I have to say that it feels a bit unconfortable . I am thinking to buy a taller handlebar , 9' rise or highter.
Would that fix the problem? or i have to buy a larger TT size bike ?
I am new in bmx culture so.. i could really need some help. Thank's

This is my bike : https://www.evanscycles.com/eastern-traildigger-2010-bmx-bike-00128280?utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=SearchVoice&utm_source=RatingsAndReviews&utm_content=Default

|

5/25/2016 1:43 PM

I am about the same height, and I have my old 1988 Mongoose. I am sure that it's top tube is near the same length, but I have 9"bars. Try the taller bars first. I would not go taller than 9.5, unless you have abnormally long arms for your torso. If you have a top loader stem, it can give some extra height. I feel your pain on the 8" bars though. My step son's SE has 8" bars and it feel like a toy to me. Wierd that an inch makes that much difference.

About half of the people I have talked to told me I should get a 21" TT bike, and the other half say that 20.5 is fine. When testing new bikes, I have ridden bikes with 21" TT and I did not feel a big difference unless the bars were taller or shorter. Personally I notice more difference in chainstay lengths than anything else on a bike...

|

I've Got sXe!!!
Up The Antix/Up The Punx
1988 Mongoose Caifornian Pro
2015 Surly Krampus

"Running Is dumb" - Dave Lawrence

5/25/2016 2:18 PM
Edited Date/Time: 5/25/2016 2:21 PM

Ok , so what you are saying is that if i will update my bars , i will feel a difference .
My arms are long (i think, maybe because i am thin) , what size do you think it will do for me? 9' , 9.5' 10' .
I don't have a top loaded stem

|

5/25/2016 2:54 PM
Edited Date/Time: 5/25/2016 2:55 PM