New complete bike ?

Related:
Create New Tag

12/14/2017 8:58 AM

Ok , looking to pick up a new complete 20” in the 350-500 dollar range if possible , I’m new to bmx and at 41 been out awhile to say the least I bought a model c recently but would like a 20” as well, I’m 5’6” tall and weigh about 205 , I was looking at the Sunday forecaster but found it to be made with high ten which from what I understand is not good or are the Sunday/other name brand bikes an exception to this? Just looking for something I can ride around the neighborhood and eventually head to the skatepark in town , I don’t want to have to upgrade later unless something wears out, I’m not doing any big tricks jumps or drops either so I don’t need a 1000 complete , any help or suggestions on brands and models would be appreciated .

|

12/14/2017 9:26 AM

Look into Hoffman bikes

|

12/14/2017 9:39 AM

here is a good guideline to go by, regardless of the company or brand

Things to look for in a BMX bike:
All of the skeletal structure that is going to bear weight should be full chromoly:
full frame -> front triangle(TT, DT, ST) AND seat stay and chainstay....full Chromoly
fork: both the steering tube and the legs...full Chromoly
the handle bars...full Chromoly
the crank arms and pedal axels....full Chromoly

Rims should be welded double walled for sure
Sealed bearings in the hubs and bottom bracket

For me, these are the MOST important things to look for to give you the best return on your investment. Every thing after this is “eye candy” to me at least.

After structure, geometry is the next most important thing.

The Hoffman ('Bama, specifically) as eskimojay mentioned, is a great bike for the price. It fits all of the above items. It has some parts that are so-so, but they are going to wear down or break anyways. You replace them with good aftermarket parts, and you have a great bike...

also look at the Colony Endeavor..or maybe Inception now...for another decent bike for the price...