New to BMX, need help

Related:
Create New Tag

7/23/2016 12:57 PM

I am new to BMX, and have no experience, and am looking for a bike. My budget is around $300, I may be able to go a little higher though. I am 5' 10", and weigh about 135 lbs. I was wondering what size bike I should get, maybe a 20.75" inch top tube with 20 in wheels. But I am not sure. Also I do not know where to buy a bike my size, in that budget.

|

7/23/2016 1:19 PM

Regarding where to buy, it varies across your local area. But, when buying, do your research prior and do it well.

Some things to look for in a good bike:
- 100% ChroMoly frame, fork, and handlebar
- Integrated & sealed headset
- Sealed wheel bearings
- Sealed BB (bottom bracket)

There is, however, a bike by Mongoose. It's called the Mode 900. It is very good for its price and features pretty much all the "good" specs of a BMX bike. It's simply the best for its price range.

|

Scooter kid trying to ride a bike.
@scootereyn

7/24/2016 1:27 AM

For $300 look at an SE Everyday or Kink Kurb. Neither of these bikes are great but for a beginner with a small budget these will do nicely. Just check around places like Danscomp for deals and do some research before you buy. I suggest going to your local shop and see what they think for sizes.
Hope this helps.

|

7/24/2016 7:33 AM

I picked up a SE hoodrich for 320 and it has double walled rims, sealed hubs, mid bb, integrated headset and 100% full chromoly. Best bike I could find for around that price and I did alot of research. You can find some really good deals on Craigslist if u don't mind getting a used bike. If I knew what I know now that's what I would of done.

|

7/24/2016 6:04 PM

readybmxer wrote:

Regarding where to buy, it varies across your local area. But, when buying, do your research prior and do it well.

Some ...more

I agree, Mode 900 all the way. Will have some money left over to upgrade some stuff as well if he wanted to.

|