New to bmx

Related:
Create New Tag

6/10/2016 5:25 PM
Edited Date/Time: 6/10/2016 5:41 PM

My son and I are trying to build a bike,all we have is a Kink Launch frame. Was wondering if anyone could help out with parts sizes we need, I'm totally new to this bike stuff. Any help is appreciated

|

6/10/2016 8:22 PM

wadeo420 wrote:

My son and I are trying to build a bike,all we have is a Kink Launch frame. Was wondering if anyone could help out with parts ...more

do you know what year it is? some of the older ones used a Spanish BB, the newer ones use a Mid BB.

Do you know what parts you're looking at yet? Most parts are fully interchangeable unless it's bottom bracket stuff. It's a lot to explain. If you have some parts picked out that you're looking at and can post em here, we'll be able to tell you if they'll fit or not

|

6/11/2016 12:42 AM

It's going to get expensive. And the frame isn't amazing. It won't be anywhere near as much fun, but would be much more cost effective to buy a decent complete.

BUT, if you go ahead with it, you'll need an integrated headset (they're all much of a muchness)
a pair of forks (a lot of modern forks come with a built in crown race for integrated headsets)
the front wheel axle size will depend on the cut of the fork dropouts (10mm/3/8ths is standard these days)
A rear wheel with 14mm axle, it'll probably have to be a cassette due to sprocket clearance (9t cassette are easy to find, average gear ratio you'd want a 25t sprocket)
Bottom bracket, this will depend on bb shell and crank axle size. Measure the inside diameter of the shell. 37mm is Spanish, 41mm is mid.
Cranks, any decent 3 piece will do. If they have a 19mm axle you'll need a 19mm bb. So if the frame has mid bb, and you get cranks with a 19mm axle, you'll need a mid 19mm bb.